Going Home
Novels

Going Home

Going Home 

Going Home is the first book in the Home series by A. American. If you haven’t had the chance to get your hands on it, just follow the link at the end of this article. Because this is an excellent book! 

If you are interested in reading more of my book reviews, click here

This post contains affiliate links

Have you read Going Home yet? Come on in and let me tell you about it! 

About Going Home 

If society collapsed, could you survive?

When Morgan Carter’s car breaks down 250 miles from his home, he figures his weekend plans are ruined. But things are about to get much, much worse: the country’s power grid has collapsed. There is no electricity, no running water, no Internet, and no way to know when normalcy will be restored—if it ever will be. An avid survivalist, Morgan takes to the road with his prepper pack on his back.

During the grueling trek from Tallahassee to his home in Lake County, chaos threatens his every step but Morgan is hell-bent on getting home to his wife and daughters—and he’ll do whatever it takes to make that happen. 

Fans of James Wesley Rawles, William R. Forstchen’s One Second After, and The End by G. Michael Hopf will revel in A. American’s apocalyptic tale.

Thoughts on Going Home 

This is an excellent book for preppers, and has been strongly recommended by many. Because it gives some insight into what can happen in this type of scenario. For those not into emergency preparedness, it is just a very good story. I believe it is a good story because it gets the mind going, and thinking about these scenarios. Going Home shows in great detail the kind of chaos that can occur in such an emergency situation. 

This is the very first book in the Home series from A. American, and I’m excited to read more. For me personally, this book really cements some of the reasons I am a prepper. Also the reasons I strongly believe in learning defensive tactics and strategies. 

We all know there are bad people in the world who prey on others. That is nothing new. Right now we live in a pretty civilized society, and some of these predators aren’t in a position to exercise control or prey on a weaker person. In a complete collapse, that can and likely will change. This book reminded me of that, in a very graphic way. 

Being a woman, and a very short and fairly tiny one, this gave me more than a few nightmares. Some of the details in this story made me actually go out and buy more ammo to have on hand. But the story also shows the good in people. Morgan encounters others who help even a diehard prepper like himself. Going Home made me realize self-defense is crucial! 

My chief complaint with the book is it reads like a giant advertisement for specific named products at times. I have to wonder if the author was paid for those endorsements, or if these are actual products he recommends. If the average person without any prepping experience is reading this, that part gets boring quickly. This is especially true in the first couple of chapters when the EMP first occurs. Just keep reading and it’ll get better. The advertising complaint didn’t last long. 

This is very much an adult-themed book and should be treated as such. Prepping is something that can be done at any age, but the book touches on very adult problems in a graphic way. I don’t recommend it for anyone younger than 17. 

My favorite part about the book is how relatable the characters are. A. American does an excellent job with the character development, and even includes some comedic relief, which is desperately needed in a story like this. I found myself wanting to keep reading to find out what happens to certain characters and how or if they survived. 

Final Thoughts on Going Home 

Going Home is a book that once I started, I couldn’t put it down. The more I read, the more excited I got and I really wanted to keep reading. Especially by the middle of the book where it gets interesting and the possibility of Morgan actually making it home was in the foreseeable future. 

While keeping in mind the negative things I talked about for the book, I still think it is an excellent book that is suitable for preppers, anyone thinking about becoming a prepper, and even just the average person wanting a good story. 

I would absolutely recommend this book, and I am excited to start reading the second book in the series. This is a series I will be reading and talking about in my blog as I read each book. 

Discussion 

Have you read Going Home from author A. American, or any of this other writing? Let me know your thoughts in the comments! 

About the Author 

Chris Weatherman, also known as Angery American is the author of the Survivalist series of books. The first book in the series is Going Home and is a sensational hit. He’s twice been listed on the USA Today Best Sellers list. 

To date he has eleven published works. He also appeared in season one of History Channel’s Alone series.

Chris has been involved in prepping since the 90’s and practices primitive skills as well as modern survival that focuses on being prepared with the proper equipment. 

He travels the country appearing at expos and prepper focused events to meet with fans, sign books and occasionally speak. In addition to these events his travels also allow him to meet and train with people all over.

Chris currently lives in Florida on the edge of the Ocala National Forest with his wife of twenty-eight years and his fourteen year old daughter Little Bit.

Purchasing Going Home 

If you are interested in buying the paperback version of Going Home, click here.

Click here for the Kindle version.

Click here for my favorite Kindle I currently own.

Amazon Notice 

The Reading Wife is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com, at no added cost to you.

19 Comments

  • Scott DeNicola

    This story reminds me of an episode of The Walking Dead without the zombies. I’d hate to think of what an EMP might do to civilization and how I would would survive. Luckily I read your site regularly! This book Going Home seems like a book that is right in my wheelhouse and something I would find a hard time putting down. Thanks for the suggestion and review.

  • Tracy @ Cleland Clan

    Going Home sounds really interesting! I’ll have to check it out! Also, thanks for putting an age limit on it–so often I look for books for my classroom, and it’s good to know ahead of time that this one wouldn’t be suitable for 13-14 year olds.

    • The Prepping Wife

      I remember we had talked about that when I reviewed Wicked, and it is something I want to make sure people know about now! Thanks for inspiring me to talk about that and reminding me it is important, Tracy!

    • Snehal

      Wow…thanks for reviewing this book dear! I am so into reading survival books. I think this book will also teach me some life lessons. I should definitely get my hands on this one! 🙂

    • The Prepping Wife

      I can easily see how it would not be an interesting book for some, Nicole. I’m glad you were able to decide that, and one of the reasons that I love doing book reviews. I’ve read some other reviews that were the same. They either got me excited about a book, or it was pretty clear I wasn’t going to enjoy it.

  • Despite Pain

    The book sounds really interesting. I guess it’s highlighting the possible realities. And they certainly wouldn’t be good. Makes you realise why being a prepper is important.

  • Thuy

    Sounds like a great series to dive into. I may start this after I’m done with my current book I’m reading. I sometimes wonder if I’d be able to have the grit and resourcefulness to handle a crisis.

  • Lyosha

    The concept sounds interesting, I have a friend who would be crazy about the book, I will totally recommend it to him or rather make it a birthday present for him, thanks!

  • Lori Roach

    Thanks for this thorough review. You gave just enough information to entice me to want to read the book. I am not a prepper, but I do see grave possibilities for what could occur in our future should our grid ever go down. This book sounds like it’s very educational and eye-opening.

  • Brittany

    I bought this book for my husband for Christmas last year. He really enjoyed it, I’m looking forward to what you think about the next book before I purchase! It’s still on my reading list but I’m glad I saw your post, a little reminder to bring it with on our next vacation.

  • Mariam

    Thank you for the review! Although I’ve never read anything like this before, I do like suspenseful movies so I might give this book a read. This review did make me think about maybe looking into prepping myself!

    • The Prepping Wife

      I know the feeling! I was already hooked before I started the first book. I read a sample online of the second book (without knowing the order of them yet) and was totally hooked. I knew I was pretty well stuck reading them all from there. Lol.

  • Laura

    Survival books always capture my interest. It’s such a plausible scenario to explore and learn from. And it’s inevitable that social structures would break down in the disorder, and it’s captivating to watch a character struggle to maintain their humanity while also defending themselves from these savage people. I’ll definitely look into it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!