Born in Shame
Series,  Repeat Authors

Born in Shame

Born in Shame 

Born in Shame is the latest novel to be checked off my constantly growing to be read list. It is the third in a three part series from author Nora Roberts. 

I had read this three part trilogy when I was much younger, and for some reason felt compelled to go and read them again. Do you ever do that? Read a book a second time? Some people can and some can’t, which I’ve always found interesting and fascinating. 

This post contains affiliate links

Have you read Born in Shame yet? Come on in and let me tell you about it! 

About Born in Shame 

Shannon Bodine’s life revolves around her job as a graphic artist at a New York ad agency. But her world turns upside down when she learns the identity of her real father: Thomas Concannon.

Obeying her late mother’s wishes, Shannon reluctantly travels to County Clare. There, amid the lush landscape steeped in legend, she meets her half sisters and their families, but she’s wary of opening her heart to them—or to their charming neighbor…

Murphy Muldoon is a successful farmer and horse breeder with a romantic streak that can turn the most trite sentiment into poetry. Soon, his striking good looks and unpretentious ways have Shannon discovering the possibility of a love that was meant to be. 

Thoughts on Born in Shame 

Born in Shame is the third and final book in this series from Nora Roberts, and I must say that it is definitely my favorite. This is a trilogy that started off mediocre and was better with each book. 

What I love about this story is the family aspect. The romance part is a bit bland, so if you’re looking for spicy, this isn’t it. But the family aspect of it gives depth and relatability. I appreciate that part. Because I grew up being raised by a textbook narcissist, and having a fair number of half brothers and sisters, I can definitely relate to this book in many ways. 

It also isn’t just about family, it is about grief and healing, getting to know family Shannon didn’t know she had, and learning to be happy. It was confirmed in the book that Shannon was existing in her previous life, and really not happy. Finding happiness can take risks, and that is where she struggled. Yet finally found the courage to do so and really make a life for herself that she wanted. 

I also love that Maggie and Briana had very prominent roles in the story and it didn’t detract from Shannon’s story. It only made it better. 

This book wasn’t any longer than the others, yet it felt like there was a lot more depth to it, that I really appreciated. 

Final Thoughts on Born in Shame 

I think I’ve had my fill of romance novels for a little while, but I am really glad I decided to read this series again after so many years. It was fun, and I do recommend it. 

Born in Shame is my favorite, Born in Ice is next, and Born in Fire is my least favorite. That would be how I would rank these three books. If you’ve read them, I would love to hear how you would rank them from best to worst. 


Have you read Born in Shame, any of the previous two books in this series, or any other writing from author Nora Roberts? Are you a fan? Let me know your thoughts in the comments! 

About the Author 

Born in Shame
Born in Shame author Nora Roberts

Nora Roberts is the number one New York Times bestselling author of more than 200 novels, including Shelter in Place, Year One, Come Sundown, and many more. She is also the author of the bestselling In Death series written under the pen name J.D. Robb. There are more than five hundred million copies of her books in print. 

Born in Shame
Born in Shame author Nora Roberts

Purchasing Born in Shame  

If you are interested in buying the paperback version of Born in Shame, click here.

Click here for the Kindle version.

Click here for my favorite Kindle I currently own.

More from Nora Roberts 

Did you enjoy my review of Born in Shame? Need another great Nora Roberts book to read? Here are my favorites! 

Born in Fire 

Born in Ice 

Jewels of the Sun 

Tears of the Moon 

Heart of the Sea 

Carnal Innocence

Amazon Notice 

The Reading Wife is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to, at no added cost to you.

Born in Shame
Born in Shame

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!