Born in Fire
Series,  Repeat Authors

Born in Fire

Born in Fire 

Born in Fire is the first novel in a three part series from author Nora Roberts that I just checked off my to be read list. 

I read these books when I was much younger. For whatever reason, I decided that I wanted to read them again, and I usually just follow my instinct when that happens. Which is where I found myself reading Born in Fire. Do you ever choose to read books a second time years later? 

This post contains affiliate links

Have you read Born in Fire? Come on in and let me tell you about it! 

About Born in Fire 

Margaret Mary, the eldest Concannon sister, is a glass artist with an independent streak as fierce as her volatile temper. Hand-blowing glass is a difficult and exacting art, and while she may produce the delicate and the fragile, Maggie is a strong and opinionated woman, a Clare woman, with all the turbulence of that fascinating west country.

One man, Dublin gallery owner Rogan Sweeney, has seen the soul in Maggie’s art, and vows to help her build a career. When he comes to Maggie’s studio, her heart is inflamed by their fierce attraction—and her scarred past is slowly healed by love… 

Thoughts on Born in Fire 

The last series I read from Nora Roberts ended up irritating me the second time around reading them. Because they lacked any real depth to me. I’ll be the first to admit that I didn’t exactly have the highest hopes for this series after that. But I pushed that thought aside and decided to find out either way. 

Born in Fire features Maggie Concannon, a typical sulky, flighty artist who follows her instincts and moods. But she is fiercely loyal to her sister and everyone she cares about. I kind of like her sassy attitude because I can relate to hiding hurt through hostility and anger. 

The thing that stuck out to me here was the family aspect. It wasn’t all sunshine and roses in this story. It was raised by a narcissist, so I totally understand having an ugly but truthful story, and it has made me who I am. 

The part that irritated me was how quickly she jumped into a relationship with Rogan and how quickly they fell in love. It felt like the whole relationship was kind of glossed over. It went from a somewhat random one night stand to suddenly proposing marriage and saying they loved each other in the blink of an eye. 

The ending was also really abrupt. I feel like there should have been more to that. I loved the location where it happened, but it still felt rushed to me and it could have been much better. 

Final Thoughts on Born in Fire 

Born in Fire is a good book and it kept me entertained for a couple of hours. But it wasn’t a great book, and that is the part that I find so disappointing. I remember this being a far better book the first time I read it many years ago, and I’m almost sorry I decided to read the series again, because it wasn’t nearly as good the second time around. 

I’m now starting Born in Ice, and I really hope that one is better, and there is more character development that happens within that book. Let’s see what happens! 


Have you read Born in Fire, or any other writing from bestselling author Nora Roberts? Are you a fan? Let me know your thoughts in the comments! 

About the Author 

Born in Fire
Born in Fire author Nora Roberts

Nora Roberts is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than 200 novels, including Shelter in Place, Year One, Come Sundown, and many more. She is also the author of the bestselling In Death series written under the pen name J.D. Robb. There are more than five hundred million copies of her books in print.

Born in Fire
Born in Fire author Nora Roberts

Purchasing Born in Fire 

If you are interested in buying the paperback version of Born in Fire, click here.

Click here for the Kindle version.

Click here for my favorite Kindle I currently own.

More From Nora Roberts 

Did you enjoy my review of Born in Fire? Need another great Nora Roberts book to read? Here are my favorites! 

Born in Ice 

Born in Shame 

Jewels of the Sun

Tears of the Moon

Heart of the Sea

Carnal Innocence

Amazon Notice 

The Reading Wife is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to, at no added cost to you.

Born in Fire
Born in Fire

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!